Blogger’s Recognition Award

Thank you very much to Tokyo Local Sites and Born To Travel for this double recognition! I am very honored to be selected by the peer bloggers.

I used to follow Mark from Born To Travel last year and enjoyed it until he moved his blog location in October 2016, and I lost sight of him until he sent me this Blogger’s Recognition Award nomination. I am glad I found him again! I think his posts such as Looking Back on our trip to Japan, and Moonrise at Tokyo’s Ueno Park are excellent!

While I was preparing for accepting the award from Mark, I had another honor of getting nominated for the award again from Tokyo Local Sites. Actually,  Tokyo Local Sites was in my list of 15 nomination candidates until the author beat me to it! The author (sorry, I couldn’t find the name on the blog site) have been to so many places in Japan that I have never been to, and I learned a lot. It’s helping me with my next Japan trip planning.

I will also be recommending others for the next round of the awards as below, and the rules for them accepting the award are as follows:

  1. Give thanks to the person who had nominated you and a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Briefly tell how you started blogging.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award.
  6. Comment on the nominated blogs and let them know you have nominated them and give a link to the post you have created.

How I started blogging

I retired from my job a few years ago, and had a lot of time thinking about what I wanted to do when I grew up. After spending quite a bit of time on the internet reading up on the topic of Japan, I found that there were lots of blogs in English by foreigners about Japan, but hardly any blogs about Japan by Japanese written in English. I decided to start blogging on my own to share my view and experience about Japan with fellow travelers. I thought my insider experience in Japan would reach a unique place in the blogger’s world.

Blogger_award2

Advice to new bloggers

  1. Blog what you are passionate about. I enjoy reading blogs that show the author’s passion on the topic even if I am not familiar with the topic myself. May be I get to learn new things, or start researching the new topic.
  2. Reading other blogger’s posts helps! Sometimes, I get a writer’s block, and need to get inspired. My source of inspiration usually comes from other blogger’s posts.

I nominate the following bloggers for this award:

  1. Traveling Matters to us. Always intriguing travel information published by Mel and Suan.
  2. Michael Philip Atkins Travels. Very talented photographer with many awe-inspiring pictures from Japan. Thank you for letting me use some photos in my blog.
  3. London Calling… Beautiful photographs from around the world.
  4. Ryn in Japan. Documenting and sharing a year of living in Japan. Thank you!
  5. I lost my heart in Japan. I love her topics for blogging about Japan such as colorful manhole covers and her observation of “standing in line”.
  6. Uncovering Japan. Her deep insights into everything Japanese. I learned new things about Japan from her.
  7. Local Girl Foreign Land. Joyce has been to so many different places! I wish I could travel like her.
  8. girljininjapan. Gorgeous photographs with wide range of Japan related topics
  9. The Narrow Bamboo Gate. She has poetic writing about her inner (and outer) journey from Japan to the her current country of residence (USA).
  10. The Six Foot Bonsai. Her story of cultural addition and how she bravely overcame it. She blogs about the dark side of Japan, and I applaud her for that.
  11. The Tattered Passport. Karlie has travel recommendations for the places she visited. Very informative!
  12. Yamanashi Kei. Kei blogs in English and Japanese. It inspires me!
  13. We’re the Travelers. Traveler Dave has a travel magazines for beginner writers. He helps and inspires other bloggers!
  14. Ashley May . Relatively new to wordpress blog, but very enjoyable reads. Her blog topics are unique, such as Japanese Yakuza and Japanese drinking habits.
  15. Anime Girls NYC. I am not a big anime fan myself, but I do enjoy her blog posts. She is very passionate about anime. I have friends who are anime fans, and I sent them the site recommendation, and they loved it!

Keep blogging, my friends!

Yoshida-san

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Blogger’s Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

